Monday, September 11, 2006

Michael Schumacher Retires this year, 2006-09-11

As you know I love Formula 1 and my favourite driver is and always was Michael Schumacher.
Yesterday "Schumi" after winning the Monza Grand Prix (Italy) finaly said that he will retire at the end of this season. With 3 more races to go. He also said that he will try to end his career with 3 wins on the 3 races.
We will miss you.

Michael Schumacher’s reign as the top Grand Prix driver of the last 10 years comes to an end in little over a months time, but where does the German rank amongst the greats? readers have been emailing in their suggestions all day.

A man who will be remembered as much for his immense speed and sensational car control as for the numerous controversial incidents that has blighted his career, Schumacher will retire at the end of this season to be replaced at Ferrari by Kimi Raikkonen.

Since making his debut in the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix, Schumacher has put his name on almost every Formula One record, with Fernando Alonso's title as the youngest world champion the only significant stat that eludes him.

Schumacher has started 247 Grands Prix, winning 90. He has also taken 68 pole positions, 75 fastest laps and scored 2,154 points.

As well as that, he has collected seven world titles including five in a row between 2000 and 2004 and dominated every team-mate he's ever had.

But how does he compare to the sport's other great names.?

Would he have beaten Juan Manuel Fangio, Jackie Stewart, Alain Prost or Ayrton Senna in equal machinery while all were at their peak?

We appealed to Formula One fans across Europe and were overwhelmed with the response that saw at least 60 per cent of voters nominating Schumacher as the greatest driver in Formula One history.

Here are some of the top fives we recieved. Go to the bottom of the page to see the drivers ranked.

Ene Alexandru (Bucharest): Michael Schumahcer, Ayrton Senna, Jackie Stewart, Juan Manuel Fangio, Alain Prost.

Oto (Tiblisi): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Niki Lauda.

Ray Cattini (London): Ronnie Peterson, Jim Clark, Alberto Ascari, Fangio, Stewart.

Radu Chirila (Cluj-Napoca): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Lauda, Fangio.

Stanislav Raykov (Europe): Senna, Fangio, Schumacher, Prost, Mika Hakkinen.

Carl Barenbrug (Edinburgh): Schumacher, Senna, Stewart, Fernando Alonso, Fangio

Alam Alsous (Vojvodina): Schumacher, Senna, Fangio, Prost, Stewart.

Jelic Branislav (Becej): Senna, Fangio, Prost, Schumacher, Stirling Moss.

Stijepo Letunic (Dubrovnik): Nigel Mansell, Senna, Schumacher, Prost, Lauda.

Wouter Nagel (Groningen): Senna, Schumacher, Fangio, Clark, Jos Verstappen.

Manoiu Marius (Constanta): Schumacher, Senna, Lauda, Mansell, Ascari.

Jurgen Kolenda (Frankfurt): Schumacher, Fangio, Prost, Senna, Stewart.

Izuchukwu Ig (Lagos): Schumacher, Prost, Senna, Stewart, Mario Andretti.

Zara (Bucharest): Schumacher, Senna, Fangio, Emerson Fittipaldi, Lauda.

J.Mark (Europe): Kimi Raikkonen, Senna, Hakkinen, Schumacher, Prost.

Linda Jansone (Riga): Schumacher, Senna, Lauda, Fangio, Prost.

Affa Mustaffa (Europe): Schumacher, Schumacher, Schumacher, Senna, Prost.

Rad Victor (Cluj-Napoca): Senna, Fangio, Prost, Stewart, Lauda.

Kulcsar Tamas (Budapest): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Nelson Piquet.

Dana Daneshvari (Basel): Schumacher, Senna, Fangio, Prost, Stewart.

Mauro Onori (Stockholm): Schumacher, Fangio, Senna, Ascari, Prost.

Dany Kattar (Canada): Schumacher, Prost, Fangio, Senna, Stewart.

Zlatko Bocov (Serbia): Schumacher, Senna, Lauda, Hakkinen, Raikkonen.

Kiril Angeloff (Venezuela): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Lauda, Fangio

Kev Perry (England): Schumacher, Prost, Senna, Lauda, Piquet.

Sergiu Calin (Romania): Senna, Prost, Schumacher, Fangio, Mansell

Bruno Trapan (Pula): Senna, Ascari, Prost, Raikkonen, Schumacher.

Al Mexican (Estonia): Senna, Schumacher, Fangio, Prost, Gilles Villeneuve.

Philip Lamotte (London): Schumacher, Senna, Fangio, Prost, Lauda.

Adis Mulahasic (Jacksonville): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Hakkinen.

Michal Mazur (Poland): Senna, Robert Kubica, Alonso, Prost, Lauda.

Stefan Muresanu (Bucharest): Schumacher, Schumacher, Schumacher, Schumacher, Fangio.

Pavel (Riga): Senna, Prost, Fangio, Stewart, Clark.

Alexandru Druduman (Bucharest): Senna, Schumacher, Lauda, Fangio, Piquet.

Alex Siclovan (Iasi): Schumacher, Lauda, Senna, Hakkinen, Jean Alesi.

Michael (Riga): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Hakkinen.

Bahaa (Dubai): Senna, Schumacher, Stewart, Fangio, Prost

Rodger Baker (Kansas): Fangio, Clark, Moss, Senna, Schumacher

Elias Abi Abdallah (Toulouse): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Hakkinen.

Eki Ehizele (Benin City): Schumacher, Senna, Fangio, Prost, Fittipaldi.

Florin Stefanescu (Bucharest): Schumacher, Senna, Lauda, Prost, Fangio.

Zulkarnain Jalil (Aceh): Schumacher, Prost, Fangio, Lauda.

Borislav Mourdzhev (Sofia): Schumacher, Senna, Hakkinen, Prost, Lauda.

Milan Jovanovic and Gornji Milanovac (Europe): Prost, Senna, Alesi, Patrick Depailler, Jacques Villeneuve.

Joseph Ghanime (Lebanon): Schumacher, Schumacher, Schumacher, Schumacher&helliper. Schumacher.

Bakhodir Shavketov (Tashkent): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Stewart, Hakkinen.

Immer Cardona (Valletta): Senna, Schumacher, Fangio, Prost, Mansell.

Kliton Ikonomi (Unknown): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Lauda.

Elena (Sofia): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Lauda, Fangio.

Viljem Rome (Ljubljana): Schumacher, Senna, Prost, Fangio, Ascari.

Jeremy Amer (Vienna): Schumacher, Mansell, Lauda, Senna, Stewart.

Florescu Alexandru (Romania): Fangio, Senna, Hakkinen, Raikkonen, Prost.

So here they are, in order, the greatest Formula One drivers of all time according to readers. Unsurprisinly Schumacher comes out on top, although there are some interesting suggestions and some notable absences. We've awarded F1-style points (10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1) to give them an order. Thanks to everyone who took part.

1. Michael Schumacher 430pts

2. Ayrton Senna 399

3. Juan Manuel Fangio 229

4. Alain Prost 223

5. Niki Lauda 96

6. Jackie Stewart 64

7. Mika Hakkinen 48

8. Nigel Mansell 31

9. Jim Clark 25

10. Alberto Ascari/Kimi Raikkonen 19

12. Stiring Moss 18

13. Ronnie Peterson 14

14. Nelson Piquet 12

15. Fernando Alonso 11

16. Emerson Fittipaldi/Jean Alesi 10

18. Robert Kubica 8

19. Patrick Depailler 5

20. Gilles Villeneuve/Jacques Villeneuve/Mario Andretti/Jos Verstappen 4

No comments: